Science for Artists

Inspiration and Truth

E-memory

Leave a comment


Painting by Katarina Countiss

Excerpts Total Recall: How the E-memory Revolution Will Change Everything by Bell, C. Gordon (Book – 2009)

 “Building my e-memory became a three-pronged effort. First I had to make digital copies of everything from my past. Second, I had to start recording and storing everything I saw, heard and did from that point forward. Then, third, I had to figure out how to organize the information in my digital corpus.”

“E-memories will not be trapped back in cabinets and shoe boxes. They will be on our end tables and walls. They will follow us on our travels. They will keep us company, showing us friendly faces, letting us hear cherished voices. E-memory will be an intimate extension of bio-memory. And change it into something new.”

“Nevertheless, I still advocate keeping everything, even the worst of it. They are your e-memories; you control the keys to them. Rather than erase them, you can seal them up, you can put a lock on those events you’d like to forget about and never open them up again. What you really want to prevent in these cases is unwanted recall not retention.”

“Productive gains will come from understanding one’s work habits better with a detailed e-memory of what I do; my computer is my personal time-management consultant. I can look back over my netivity logs and notice where I’ve spent too much time on low-priority projects or took too little time at a key place, or burned up a surprising number of hours reading Internet news.”

 “As work experience becomes more of a scientific record and less of a befuddled bio-memory, your work time will become more creative. First, you simply won’t have to argue about what happened anymore, and second, the interconnectivity of e-memory records will free you to make new associations.”

 “Lifelong learning is both a necessity and a joy. What I find fascinating is that once our learning is self-directed, without any education system telling us what to do, we all act like little professors, just like the scientist that [Vannevar] Bush had in mind. We gather material, arrange it create links, add notes and generally make sense of it all. We can call up bits of it to help put together our next idea.”

Author: KC

I am Katarina Countiss, a multimedia designer. I like blogs, games, art and technology. I am curious about how things are made.

Leave a Reply

