Science for Artists

Inspiration and Truth

The Accidental Creative

Leave a comment

The Accidental Creative .How to Be Brilliant at A Moment’s Notice

 By Henry, Todd (Book – 2011)

Summary: This book is written for all the creatives out there, the people who make value in their companies by their ideas. These people depend on a flow of inspiration. How does a person cultivate themselves, harvest their ideas, sew great works. Todd Henry writes about the importance of balance, priorities and friends  to help you sharpen your skills at finding meaning, purpose, direction or whathaveyou to achieve your creative goals. He emphasizes structure. We have all found that limitations often make a product better, more direct and purposeful and we are able to send messages more succinctly when given less instead of more.

Review: I completely agree with this approach. I have often found when I look forward to a day off, free to do anything I want, I end up doing less. It’s when there is structure and limits, deadlines and people that are relying on me that I do my better works. I love reading the newer books, more recently published, they reflect changes and advantages to having a computer and the internet. The book has a website that seems helpful and addresses some of the points in a different way. I liked Todd Henry’s recommendation for watching TED talks. Courageous people tell their stories; it’s inspiring.

Rating: 7 life structures that limit you and engage you

Favorite part: “What work I have done I have done because it has been play…. Cursed is the man who has found some other man’s work and annot lose it. When we talk about the great workers of the world we really mean the great players of the world. The fellows who groan and sweat under the weary load of toil that they bear never can hope to do anything great. How can they when their souls are in a ferment of revolt against the employment of their hands and brains? The product of slaver, intellectual or physical, can never be great.” –Mark Twain

Wine-pairing: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/stefan_sagmeister_the_power_of_time_off.html This TED talk by designer Stefan Sagmeister talks about how to use your time off to rejuvenate your outlook, freshen up some old ideas and generate new ones.

Excerpt from the TED talk transcript:
And I very quickly made a list of the things I was interested in, put them in a hierarchy, divided them into chunks of time and then made a plan, very much like in grade school. What does it say here? Monday eight to nine: story writing. Nine to ten: future thinking. Was not very successful. And so on and so forth. And that actually, specifically as a starting point of the first sabbatical, worked really well for me. What came out of it? I really got close to design again. I had fun. Financially, seen over the long term, it was actually successful. Because of the improved quality, we could ask for higher prices.


“Obsessions make my life worse and my work better.” Design in pennies by Stefan Sagmeister

 

Author: KC

I am Katarina Countiss, a multimedia designer. I like blogs, games, art and technology. I am curious about how things are made.

Leave a Reply

