Science for Artists

Inspiration and Truth

Hitchhiker’s Guide

Leave a comment


Map of Norway

An excerpt from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy By Adams, Douglas (Book – 1980) p. 192.

“Perhaps, I’m old and tired” he continued, “but I always think that the chances of finding out what is really going on are so absurdly remote that the only thing to do is to say hang  the sense of it and keep yourself occupied . Look at me: I design coast lines.  I got an award for Norway.” 

He rummaged around in a pile of debris and pulled out a large Plexiglas block with his name on it and a model of Norway molded into it.

“Where’s the sense in that?” he said. “None that I’ve been able to make out. I’ve been doing fjords all my life. For a fleeting moment they become fashionable and I get a major award.”

He turned it over in his hands with a shrug and tossed it aside carelessly, but not so carelessly that it didn’t land on something soft.

“In this replacement Earth we’re building they’ve given me Africa to do and of course I’m doing it with all fjords again because I happen to like them, and I’m old-fashioned enough to think that they give a baroque feel to a continent. And they tell me it’s not equatorial enough. Equatorial!” He gave a hollow laugh. “What does it matter? Science has achieved some wonderful things, of course, but I’d far rather be happy than right any day.”

“And are you?”
“No. That’s where it all falls down, of course.”

 

Author: KC

I am Katarina Countiss, a multimedia designer. I like blogs, games, art and technology. I am curious about how things are made.

Leave a Reply

