Science for Artists

Inspiration and Truth

The Six Epochs of Evolution

Leave a comment

Inspired by the prospect of living in Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry, I created this video (as the application requested). It uses material from Ray Kurzweil’s book, The Singularity is Near (2005) and the first half of  Sigur Rós’ song, Starálfur, from the album, Ágætis byrjun (1999).

“VIDEO: A 60-second video on DVD telling us about what you would do with 30 days at MSI. How would you make learning fun? Showcase the creativity and qualities that make you the right person, and be sure we see and hear you (it’s the whole point).  The DVD must be playable on a standard DVD player. (Please test your disc before sending. Sorry, non-playable entries will be rejected.)”

I really enjoyed making this video. There were moments of doubt, where I wasn’t sure my slapdash methods would churn outsomething that sort of made sense. I don’t have the patience for third or forth takes, and the second  ones are done with a heavy sigh. Looking at it, I feel a sense of completion, hope, and pride. If anyone wants to collaborate with me on a video, I wholly welcome it.

Warning: The audio in the first 15 seconds are a bit icky. I did not hear that in my quality control phase, I swear. I am going to fix it soon, but I wanted to post it because I am so proud and anxious for feedback. The last 15 seconds or so have some background noise, but I after trying to get the timing right on the audio with a second take in the apartment, I felt that the genuine sound would be okay, but yeah, I noticed that I still didn’t get the timing right.

Author: KC

I am Katarina Countiss, a multimedia designer. I like blogs, games, art and technology. I am curious about how things are made.

Leave a Reply

